At the recent Equine Science Society Annual Meeting held in Minneapolis the department had two graduate students and two alumni recognized. Those recognized were:

Graduate Students

  • Caroline Loos (advised by Dr. Kristine Urschel) received the 1st place award in the Equine Biosciences section
  • Morgan Pyles (advised by Drs. Laurie Lawrence and Michael Flythe) received 3rd place in the Nutrition section


  • Dr. Shannon Pratt-Phillips was presented with the 2017 Outstanding Educator Award by the Equine Science Society on May 31. Dr. Pratt-Phillips is currently an Associate Professor at North Carolina State where she has been recognized on many occasions for her teaching excellence.
  • Dr. Paul Siciliano will receive the Equine Science Award at the 2017 ASAS meeting in Baltimore next month. Dr. Siciliano is a professor at North Carolina State and has served as President of the Equine Science Society and as a member of the NRC committee for the most recent edition of the Nutrient Requirements of Horses.