Date: Friday, August 16, 2019 - 12:30pm


  • To encourage youth to expand their knowledge of avian facts, and become proficient in poultry management, and related subjects
  • To help youth with career guidance, and to promote the poultry industry, by stimulating their interest in poultry and other avian species
  • To make learning fun


Date: First Friday of the State Fair (i.e., Animal Science Day)
Time: Right after completion of the state poultry judging contest
Location: Cloverville, West Wing of State Fairgrounds

Awards will be presented at the end of the contest in Cloverville. 



  • See General Rules applying to all 4-H Exhibitors and General Rules applying to 4-H judging events.
  • This contest will test of the participants' knowledge of poultry and poultry products. Refer to the State Fair catalogue or contact the state contact person for a list of materials to be covered [Indicated below].
  • There are both senior and junior divisions in this contest.
  • A team will consist of not less than two or no more than four members. Counties may enter more than one team. [Counties must have at least six participants to have two teams and at least 10 participants to have three teams.]
  • Official sports bracket book will be used to pair teams. A double elimination tournament style format will be followed. The contest will continue until only one team remains with less than two losses.
  • Each bowl match will consist of 9 questions. Questions will be in format suitable for bowl competition - definitions, spelling and multiple choice. Pictures and charts from the study material may be used. Incorrect questions will be offered to the other team. Questions will be worth 5 points. For the seniors only, Incorrect answers and acknowledgment penalty will be minus 5 points. BEGINNING IN 2010, NO POINTS WILL BE DEDUCTED FOR JUNIORS GIVING WRONG ANSWERS.
  • Ties during the bowl will be broken by one toss up question until tie is broken.
  • After completion of the question, teams have 10 seconds to buzz in. The answer should start within 5 seconds of being acknowledged.
  • Questions given to the other team after a miss will not be repeated but can be completed if interrupted by the first team.
  • A team member and coach have the privilege to ask for verification on an answer he/she feels is incorrect. "Time out" must be called before the next question is read. Decisions made by the judge are final.
  • There will be no conferring by participants among themselves or with anyone else except for the moderator while the avian competition is in process. Participants giving or receiving answers from others will be excused from competition and not receive a ribbon.
  • Top four judges in the Senior Division -- $600 for team expenses at the National 4-H Avian Bowl event.


All questions for both the state and national events will come from the 2016 version.

The following sections and pages have been selected as study materials for the 2019 Kentucky Avian Bowl contest:

Juniors contest covers:

  • Avian systems (Only Circulatory, Nervous, Excretory, Muscle and Skeletal) - Pages 39-40
  • Breeds varieties and strains (AOSB and Miscellaneous only) - Pages 79-80
  • Raising game birds (all) - pages 81-99
  • Raising your home flock (all) - pages 151C-161
  • Avian influenza (All) - Pages 181-182

The Senior Contest will cover all of the Junior Contest material plus:

  • Eggcylopedia (Eggs from A-Z through Chantilly Meringue) and (Sabayon Sauce through Zeaxanthin) - Pages 103-110 and 145-151B

  • Contributions of poultry to the development of science - pages 169-170

The quickest and most accurate method of ordering the manual is to go to Clemson website:

Go to the bottom of the page and click on publications. Search for Avian Bowl. You can place orders through there. It will require the use of a credit or debit card. This method will automatically bring up appropriate shipping charges during the order process.

Payment should only be for $15.00 per copy. There is no tax or shipping/handling charges. Shipment is via USPS fourth-class mail.

If you prefer to pay by check, you may send payment to:

Clemson University Bulletin Room 82
Poole Agricultural Building
Clemson, SC 29634
(864)-656-3261-- Phone
(864)-656-0742 --Fax.

Checks should be made payable to: Clemson University.

Purchase orders with the necessary authorized signatures may be mailed or faxed to the above.


Kentucky has a strong history of participating in the National Avian Bowl contest, often placing in the top three

  • Kentucky placed 3rd in 1990, 1999 and 2003
  • Kentucky placed 2nd in 1994, 1996, 1998 and 2001
  • Kentucky placed 1st in 1992, 1993, and 1997

2018 Avian Bowl Team

  • Katie Thacker, Pike County
  • Irena Wolfrom, Madison County
  • Kierston Dotson, Pike County
  • Ciara Kilgore, Pike County

2017 Avian Bowl Team

  • Jacob Kessinger, Lawrence County
  • Bix Meyer, Pike County
  • Layn McDiffet, Laurel County
  • Kiera Lovel, Pike County

2016 Avian Bowl Team - Placed 5th

  • Josh Collier, Madison County
  • Zena Pare, Warren County
  • Abbey Dickerson, Warren County
  • Kylie McDiffett, Laurel County

2015 Avian Bowl Team - Placed 4th

  • Eli Stoltman, Lincoln County
  • Corey White, Lincoln County
  • Kali Tacket, Pike County
  • Kayla McGuire, Pike County

2014 Avian Bowl Team - Placed 3rd

  • Hannah Bergamini, Warren County
  • Emma Spainhoward, Warren County
  • Taylor Williams, Perry County
  • Emma Looney, Pike County

2013 Avian Bowl Team - Placed 2nd

  • Nancy Maynard, Pike County
  • Andy Stiltner, Madison County
  • Caleb Bergamini, Warren County
  • Hannah Whitaker, Perry County

2012 Avian Bowl Team: Placed 8th

  • Josh Robinette, Lawrence County
  • Bre Howell, Lawrence County
  • Kelly Lemaster, Lawrence County

2011 Avian Bowl Team: Placed 5th

  • Stephen Burkee
  • Keisha Morgan
  • Megan Syck
  • Joshua Stephens

2010 Avian Bowl team: Placed 8th

  • Darryl Cole, Breathitt County
  • Addison Whitaker, Letcher County
  • Seth Sparks, Magoffin County
  • Kaitlyn Lemaster, Lawrence County

2009 Avian Bowl team: Tied for 5th place

  • Rebecca May, Pike County
  • Hannah Stewart, Breathitt County
  • Adam Stewart, Pike County
  • Brooke Preston, Pike County